Call to Justice Announcement Photo

Elder Law of Michigan Announces the 7th Annual Joe D. Sutton Call to Justice Awards

2015 Call to Justice LogoLANSING, MI (June 24, 2015) – Elder Law of Michigan, Inc. (ELM), a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization, is proud to announce the 7th Annual Joe D. Sutton Call to Justice Awards. The Call to Justice Awards honor those that share the mission of Elder Law of Michigan to advocate for, educate, and assist many different people, with a continued focus on older adults and persons with disabilities. “These awards give us the opportunity to recognize the people and organizations that are making a real and tangible difference in the lives of seniors every day.” –Ron Tatro, Vice President of Elder Law of Michigan.  This year, ELM celebrates the contributions of our honorees with awards receptions in Southeast, West, and Mid-Michigan. These receptions will take place on:

Southeast Michigan – Thursday, August 6, 2015 at 6 PM

Charles H. Wright Museum of African American History, Detroit, MI

Mid-Michigan – Friday, August 21, 2015 at 6 pm

Eli and Edythe Broad Art Museum, East Lansing, MI

West Michigan – Thursday, August 27, 2015 at 6:30 PM

Frederik Meijer Gardens and Sculpture Park, Grand Rapids, MI

This year, Elder Law of Michigan has chosen to recognize eight individuals and three organizations from across Michigan. The 2015 Honorees List is the most diverse in background, as it includes various legal professionals, civil servants, and community organizations. The 2015 Honorees are:

Southeast Michigan Honorees

Southeast Michigan

Hon.  James Alexander, Oakland County Circuit Court

Lynn Alexander, Vice President of Public Affairs, Presbyterian Villages of Michigan

Area Agency on Aging 1-B

Mid-Michigan HonoreesMid-Michigan

Rosemary Buhl, Attorney, Law Office of Rosemary Howley Buhl, P.C.

Amy Tripp, Managing Partner, Chalgian & Tripp Law Office, PLLC

Shelly Stratz, Adult Protective Services

Sixty Plus, Inc., Elderlaw Clinic, WMU – Cooley Law School

West Michigan HonoreesWest Michigan

Chris Becker, Chief Assistant Prosecuting Attorney, Kent County

Kelly Quardokus, Attorney, Q Elderlaw

Sgt. Michelle Robinson, Michigan State Police

Senior Neighbors

Previous Call to Justice Awards Honorees include: U.S. Senator Debbie Stabenow (2013), Michigan Attorney General Frank Kelley (2011), Judge David M. Murkowski (2014), Attorney General Bill Schuette (2012), along with many attorneys, medical professionals, members of the press, and community activists.

The 2015 Call to Justice Awards receptions include a cocktail hour featuring hors-d’oeuvres and cash bar, followed by an awards ceremony celebrating our distinguished honorees. Tickets are available for purchase at The net proceeds of these awards receptions will benefit ELM through the Access to Justice Fund and support ELM’s Legal Hotline for Michigan Seniors, providing thousands of seniors and vulnerable adults with no-cost legal services. For a copy of this press release, please click here.

Leave a Reply